Eric Ries has posted another fascinating article on continuous deployment, which is one of his more controversial (and brilliant, in my opinion) proposals.

To me, continuous deployment seems like a great idea for any start-up or environment where the value of fast iteration is more important than absolute stability (although stability is quite creatively addressed via the use of split testing in the production environment.)

Check out the article on why CD is worth using at http://startuplessonslearned.blogspot.com/2009/06/why-continuous-deployment.html and decide for yourself; unfortunately I’m not in a place right now where I can put this into practice, but as soon as I get back to a start-up or an immature product I’ll definitely be lobbying hard to put continuous deployment in place.  If any readers get a chance to put it into practice I’d love to hear your stories.

